• December 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Final Crisis: Legion of 3 Worlds #2 [Review]


Quick Rating: Very Good!
Story Title: Book Two

Multiple Legions come into play, finally, as we also discover the fate of the Green Lanterns of the 31st Century.

finalcrisislegionof3worlds002Writer: Geoff Johns
Pencils: George Perez
Inker: Scott Koblish
Colorist: Hi-Fi
Letters: Nick Napolitano
Asst. Editor: Adam Schlagman
Editor: Eddie Berganza
Cover Art: (Reg) George Perez & Dave McCaig, (Sliver) George Perez & Hi-Fi
Publisher: DC Comics

This issue opens on an ominous–but perhaps also hopeful–note. We then shift on page 2 to events on Sorceror’s World, which quickly becomes a battle between the Legion and Mordru. The last of the Green Lanterns shows up about the time Superboy-Prime and HIS legion show up, and the two Legions clash. (the double-page shot of their arrival would make a great poster…) Meanwhile, Superman and other Legionaires argue over what to do about Superboy-Prime (an argument that feels a bit metatextual to this reader). As they prepare to contact other Legions, Superboy-Prime and his bunch bring the fight home. Chaos erupts with the introduction of two other Legions. While they start to determine what’s going on big-picture-wise, Superman engages Superboy in combat. As the fate of the Green Lanterns comes into focus, a new player comes into play.

Visually, this is another fantastic issue. I’m not happy it’s been nearly two months since the last issue…but as a limited series that (for the moment) doesn’t seem to impact any other tiles including the core Final Crisis mini…well, I can’t bring myself to objectively count points against this for lateness except to note said lateness.
Perez once again impresses me–the entire art team does, really–with such detail, great colors, and so very many characters while maintaining such a high quality.

Story-wise, the “newness” has slightly worn off for me. I’m conscious of the fact that I’m missing a lot of stuff that older/long-time readers will pick up on. In my role as a relatively recent reader of anything Legion, though, I’m still enjoying the story overall. No real complaints…I’m eager to get to the next issue, and the issue after, and the concluding issue. I’m hooked, and I want to know what happens next (and really, with any comic story, I find that’s often a good thing, patience-be-darned!)

I get the feeling this is going to be one of those series that will make for a fantastic single-volume read. I feel like there’s a lot to be found in both this and the previous issue singularly–not fond of the higher cover price, but at least I don’t feel ripped off, as there’s plenty to keep me reading for awhile and even more to keep me looking through the pretty pictures. This is certainly my favorite of the Final Crisis stories–I’m enjoying this far more than the core story.

I definitely recommend this issue (with the usual qualifications–interest in the characters, already having or having access TO the first issue, etc.–this being the 2nd issue of only 5 total).

Ratings:

Story: 4/5
Art: 5/5
Overall: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

