• July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

The Obligatory “I Just Saw ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’!” post


I just saw The Amazing Spider-Man.

Definitely a much different creature than the 2002 film from just over 10 years ago (end of my junior year! Where HAS the time gone?!?).

And yet, this film was a heckuva lot more enjoyable than Spider-Man 3 from just a few years ago.

In fact, this was the most I’ve enjoyed ANYTHING Spider-Man in a number of years.

I got to thinking, during a scene in the high school: THIS is how you go back and re-live the spirit of the early Spidey comics by Lee & Ditko & co. Other media. Not constantly restarting stuff in the comics or waving a magic wand (er…devil) at stuff and resetting things to the status quo from 20+ years ago. You get your movies, and video games, and cartoons and such to revisit that old stuff “reimagined.”

I also found myself trying to decide if this film “could” fit in-continuity with the 2002 series (nope, just gotta enjoy it as its own thing). I suspect if you’ve seen the earlier films, some elements of this one will have a bit of familiarity in a way…and I liked that.

There was a certain amount of “echo” to me from the 2002 film in this–so long as I’m not crazy, you’ll recognize a Lizard/Goblin parallel. And there’s another scene that reminded me of that “you mess with him, you mess with us!” from 2002.

Given this is a movie, I had zero problem with the costume (but doggone it, WHAT is with that mask not staying on?!?). The costume simply “is” Spider-Man; I couldn’t even tell you offhand if it’s more one version or another, though I’m sure you’ll find that around online.

While I much prefer Mary Jane, didn’t have any greater problem with Gwen being “the love interest” in this film than I did this being a reboot. Different series, different supporting characters…works for me.

For having only seen this once, and less than an hour ago at that–I’d have to say this was on par with 2008’s Iron Man and 2004’s Spider-Man 2. Well worth seeing, especially in the theatre.

Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

