• July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Booking Through Thursday: Periodically


btt buttonSo other than books … what periodicals do you read? Magazines? Newspapers? Newsletters? Journals?

Do you subscribe? Or do you buy them on the newsstand when they look interesting?

btt20120705aIt’s been quite awhile since I’ve had any real patience for a magazine. Used to be (back in the ’90s and early 2000s) I’d fairly regularly read Wizard (self-billed “The Guide to Comics”). But Wizard ceased print publication a couple years ago, and I’ve never gotten into any of the other comics-related publications. The closest to a replacement for me, for present, may be Bleeding Cool, which had a preview issue recently and begins official sequential publication later this year.

(There’s also “the Comic-Con issue” of something I’m blanking on at present…yet I’ve come to be quite disgusted at what the [San Diego] Comic Con has become and try to mostly avoid the hype).

btt20120705bNewspapers I also rarely read–I’ll flip through the paper at my parents’ when I visit, but overall that’s really my only exposure these days TO a newspaper. For the most part I tend to get my news from the radio, Facebook, and Twitter.

I can’t remember the last time I saw an actual newsletter.

And it’s been years since seeking a journal…half a decade, probably; not since grad school.

But we’re talking “periodicals,” and the list in the prompt neglects the most obvious response from me:

Comic books.

Sometimes published weekly, sometimes biweekly, occasionally “3 times/month,” perhaps bimonthly, quarterly, and they also have annuals (while still others are whenever a new issue is actually finished/publishable).

btt20120705cI don’t subscribe to any comics, not in the sense of the publisher mailing them directly to me. Never have–and with changes I’ve only vaguely been aware of lately–probably never will.

I do, however, maintain a “pull list” at my local comic shop–a list of titles that they order that I’m going to buy each time a new issue comes out, without requesting month after month. Each time a new issue is published, I can simply walk in, and it’s already been set aside, “reserved,” for me.

And there are plenty of other comics that I also buy new, the week or two they’re first published.

My reading tends to–as a whole–be split unevenly between books, and comics (it varies week to week by what’s on-hand or has my attention).

But after a few years of primarily comics, the past 9 months I’ve found myself finally back into maintaining a constant stream of books that I’ve read [or listened to unabridged] and actually finished:

  • The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor
  • The Litigators (Grisham)
  • 11/22/63 (King)
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
  • A Game of Thrones
  • A Clash of Kings
  • The Hunger Games
  • A Storm of Swords
  • Catching Fire [audiobook]
  • Mockingjay
  • Marvel’s Civil War: A Prose Novel

gijoearealamericanhero180Due to the US holiday yesterday, ‘New Comics Day’ was bumped from Wednesday to Thursday…making today New Comics Day. Two new tie-in issues to the ongoing crossover/”event” Avengers vs. X-Men (or AvX) are out, as well as a new issue of GI Joe: A Real American Hero which sees the Joes wind up at a comic convention…the premise amusing enough I intend to buy the issue though it’s been over a year since I’ve bought any others.

2 Responses

  1. Here’s mine:

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/07/booking-through-thursday.html

  2. Awesome that they reserve the comics for you :)

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/07/booking-through-thursday.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

