• August 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Not My Ninja Turtles…


No fancy post. No photos, not even very much to say. Just…that was NOT “my” Ninja Turtles. Teenage Mutant or otherwise.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to re-watch the 1990 and 2007 films as a palette cleanser.

Yeah, some good stuff, small things. But I am really NOT impressed, and didn’t particularly enjoy the thing, and even the stuff that apparently was supposed to be funny…wasn’t. To me, anyway.

I won’t go so far as to suggest I “understand” Transformers fans.

This just certainly was not an incarnation that I care anything about, offhand. Maybe sleeping on it and further pondering will change my mind some or open to other insights and feelings on the thing.

7 Responses

  1. Yeah, I have been hearing a lot of reviews like this. I haven’t seen it yet. How did it compare to the animated movie TMNT? Some people didn’t like that either.

    • I’d put this at the bottom of all the (theatrical) films. While it could change if I go back through re-watching them again soon, I typically count the 1990 film as my favorite (reaffirmed tonight) and then put the 2007 animated film next, with II and 3 after.

      While I was watching it in the theater back in ’07, I remember thinking that my “ideal” would be a mix of live-action with CGI turtles. Having re-watched the 1990 film just tonight, I’d be quite happy with a new film with those turtles, and maybe they could CGI the heads for the lip movement.

      • Definitely. I seem to remember there also was a Ninja Turtle musical in the 90s called The Coming Out of Their Shells tour, haha, but I’m not sure if that is comparable to any of the movies.

      • I tend to put that as its own thing…though like “Turtles Forever” I don’t count it here, as it wasn’t (to my knowledge and recollection) a theatrical thing.

        The Coming Out of Their Shells thing is on iTunes, which I was excited to see the other day…I’ve had an audiocassette-quality copy of the songs for over a decade now from plugging a tape player into my computer and recording the audio (rather crudely)…

      • Yes I agree it is not really comparable to the movies. I think I have a VHS of the musical, I’ll have to find it.

      • I was morbidly amused at seeing Next Mutation put out on DVD…I’d love to see a re-release of the 2003 animated series as full seasons (or just the entire series).

        I’d also be all over a dvd of the stage show of Coming Out of Their Shells…I may still have the VHS around here somewhere, but I don’t think I’ve seen it since I was in college.

      • I have actually never seen Next Mutation yet.

        I completely agree about the 2003 series, it was very good. In reading the original comic book by Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird, I realized that the 2003 series took a lot of influence from that, from its somewhat darker theme to specific stories (shredder, baxter, even some of the aliens and traveling to alien worlds). In this way it is also kind of like a hybrid of the original TV series and the comic book (or the 1990 movie). The drawing style that resembled anime somewhat was also interesting.

        Apparently there is also another TV series after the 2003, although I haven’t seen it yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

