• April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

More toys

Continued inspiration struck today, so I’ve decided to share some of the other toys that I have scattered around my apartment.


First up are my Mighty Muggs. You’ll find these in the toy aisle at most Targets and Walmarts, and probably at some comic shops. Here are my Star Wars Mighty Muggs:. Obi-Wan, Yoda, Boba Fett, Darth Vader, and 1 (of 2) Storm Trooper.


Next are my Marvel Mighty Muggs–Thor, Captain America, and Iron Man on the heroic side, Galactus on the villains’ side.  Sharing the hanging rack (from left to right) are Chip Harvey (named by a friend), a Burger King Yoda; a McDonald’s (I think!) Batman. Then Elvis-inspired M&Ms minis found at a drug store. Then Mike and Sulley (Sulley’s from McDonald’s, I’m not sure where Mike came from). On Galactus’ other side, a BGSU (my alma mater) falcon, and a plush Care Bear I snagged from one of those claw machines, that never got given away.


Some more Mighty Muggs, these from the Indiana Jones line. That guy who did the thing with the heart; a couple of Cairo Swordsmen, and of course, Indy himself.  Sharing shelftop space is an M&Ms dispenser, and the Marvel Legends Sentinel with X-Men Origins: Wolverine 3.75″ Comics Wolverine.


These are my oversized Heroclix figures. Spectre, Galactus, and Dark Phoenix were convention-exclusives in ’04-’06. Anti-Monitor came out last spring; the Sentinels and Sinestro-in-Ring-Construct came out back in ’02 or ’03.


Fin Fang Foom was the oversized Heroclix convention-exclusive in ’07. Here he’s holding a GCPD officer from the DC Infinite Heroes 3.75″ line…they’re presently filling space on my Marvel shelf.


Kilowog fills the space on another shelf between my zombie series and TMNT/GI Joe/Disney volumes. I forget which line he’s from–but it’s one of the DC Direct. I’d like to eventually add Hal, Kyle, and Guy…but we’ll see.


Here’s an Akira figure I picked up years back. This sits on one of my manga shelves (appropriately enough).


Mongul is from one of the older DC action figure lines from a few years ago. I think I had a Superman and Bizarro from the line–never did manage to snag the Cyborg Superman or Steel…still would sorta enjoy locating the ones from the Death/Return of Superman line from DC Direct, though. He sits on a high shelf with the background he came with, next to my Harry Potter paperbacks.


Thor here is the sole Marvel Legends figure I purchased after the line changed hands. As a fan of the Thor: Lord of Asgard period with the comics, this was far too cool to pass up on at the time! (I might eventually dig out my classic Thor, which was the first-ever Marvel Legends figure I’d picked up–and offhand the figure that started me back into occasionally collecting such toys back in my college days).


These guys chill on a computer that’s been waiting to get fixed up…if/when I do anything new with non-book shelving, they’ll probably have top billing there. Robin’s from the DC Direct Teen Titans line; Batman and Nightwing come from the DC Direct Batman: Hush line. I also have Commissioner Gordon and Alfred from this line, though haven’t had room to have them out yet. Nightwing was a birthday/Christmas present; I later tracked down these other two to complete the “set.”


This Superman was given to me by a friend years ago. When attached to the cord he came with (or fishing line) and properly hung from the ceiling, you flips a switch under the cape, give him a push, and he’ll zoom in circles around the area until the batteries die. Right now, he guards the freezer/fridge in the kitchen for lack of better place to have ‘im.


And though not comic related, Red here hangs out on the couch along with his (not pictured here) buddy Yellow. Though not to a serious degree, I’m also a fan of certain M&Ms stuff (if not so much the candy itself).


So, that’s a quick look at some of the toys around this apartment. I also have a bunch of Ninja Turtles, primarily from the 2k3 series; a small handful of 3.75″ DC figures, and a whole slew of Star Wars and Marvel Legends that don’t currently have any place to be displayed.

