• June 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

My End-of-May Bargain Acquisitions (part 3 of 3)


After having initially passed on a number of Batman issues the previous week, last week I filled out more of my Batman collection for convenience of having the issues already in one place so I have less to dig for in the nearer-future:

I remember these Batman: The New Adventures issues from my early comic-reading days; I believe the two issues on the right were in one of those 3-packs that stores like Kmart and Hills used to carry.

batmanthenewadventures

Though duplicates, I wanted to have as much of the full Batman run as I can without digging through way too many longboxes, and re-buying the issues saves some digging (for now)…so another copy of the Knightfall issues:

batman492to495

I don’t recall how much the first printing “direct market” or “collectors’ edition” Batman #497 was once “worth,” but got it here for only 25-cents along with the surrounding issues!

batman496to499

…and for a mere 50 cents TOTAL, snagged BOTH editions of the oversized Batman #500. Twenty years ago, the “newsstand edition” was cover-priced $2.50 and the “collectors’ edition” was $3.95 cover price. (These days, that’d probably be $4.99 and $7.99).

batman500covers

I’m pretty sure I once saw Batman: Sword of Azrael #1 listed as being supposedly “worth” $40 or so (back in early 1993). The cover price of each of these issues was $1.75. In this purchase, I paid $1 TOTAL for all 4 first prints.

batmanswordofazrael

Fleshed out the Legends of the Dark Knight collection…

lotdkhothouseandturf

Nothing particularly special to me about these particular issues, except filling in some holes in the collection.

lotdkheat

…of course, Legends of the Dark Knight #50 is a “classic” for me–both for the image and the re-telling of the classic Joker story. Paid $3.95 for it about 20 years ago. Paid a mere 25-cents for it last week.

legendsofthedarkknight050to053

I recognize the Vows issue…but can’t recall offhand if that’s because I bought it in-print recently, or because I bought it as a random 99-cent digital edition. Either way, I’ve come nowhere close to paying full cover price for it, even if it is a duplicate this time around.

lotdkannuals

While I really only have random mini-series and specials/one-shots left to fill in my Superman 1986-2010 collection, I still have a long way on the Batman stuff…but I’m more determined than ever to stick to the bargain-bins as much as possible, though I know Batman: Year One and A Death in the Family will likely cost as much as most of the rest of the collection, unfortunately.

2 Responses

  1. Death in the Family was reprinted as a fairly cheap trade paperback back in the day. It still pops up on Amazon and eBay cheap sometimes. I think I paid eight dollars for mine about eight years ago.

    I love that New Adventures period. Particularly the Starlin run.

    • The paperback was the way I first read the story…I used to love going to one of the “other” libraries in the area as a kid, because I knew they had it and some others that I liked (before I had any concept whatsoever of “inter library loan”). I’ve actually wound up with several copies through the years…and marvel at the $3.99 cover price on the older editions (I think it’s a $12.99 book these days).

      But satisfies the “reading” itch, so much less inclination to pay Top Dollar for the single issues…especially having already put it off 20-some years.

Leave a Reply

