• July 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Not at Comic Con 2013


SDCC LogoOnce again, Comic Con is upon us, and once again, I am not there.

Yet…truthfully, I am honestly pretty sure I don’t actually WANT to be there.

I get “crowd-claustrophobic” fairly easily, and everything I hear of the convention population suggests I’d wind up fairly miserable.

As I’ve told the guys at Kenmore Komics several times: they’ve “ruined” conventions for me, as well…the Kenmore 25-cent bins are a RICH source of cheap comics for me, with more great “gems” than I can honestly try to recall in one sitting…and more often than not, the bins are at least somewhat organized. Lately, it seems to me that most convention bargain bins are little but “recent” stuff from the last 5-10 years with little good assortment from the ’90s…and it’s frustrating just how many “bargain bins” have crept up to 50-cents.

I’m also quite a fan of the panels at conventions. I still remember my first Gen Con, going to a random panel about Magic: The Gathering, and sitting next to someone playing with his kid…and come to find out that it was Richard Garfield–the guy who created the game! Or attending that panel with Ed Greenwood, author of the Elminster books. A particularly fun panel with Tracy Hickman and his wife, and the crowd-involved generation of the Ninja-Pirate-Viking Elves. Or that Wizard World Chicago attending all the DC panels, a Vertigo panel, and a number of Marvel panels. Being present at a Gen Con for the announcement of Privateer PressHordes game. The Stan Lee panel at Pittsburgh 2012 with my friends Bridgett, Michael, and Ashley.

But everything I hear of SDCC, you basically have to wait in ridiculous lines to get into any of the “major” panels. And frankly, to me that seems a waste of time. I shouldn’t have to “camp out” overnight and half a day to attend a 1-hour panel on Doctor Who or whatever “big” panel. Hardly worth the air fare, lodging, parking, and food costs.

So I intend to stick to the “smaller” cons. I keep entertaining the idea of attending Heroes or Dragon Con one of these years. I’ve given up on the NYCC as that seems to have gotten too huge too quickly. Even C2E2 has gotten “iffy” for me.

And while I haven’t even touched on other “issues” I have–particularly the “con exclusives” and such–I’ll stick to getting my “news” from sites like Bleeding Cool and CBR…though even a lot of that I’m not fond of these days as there’s just so much…hype. And spoilerage.

That being said, I may post later this weekend with some of my thoughts on what news does catch my attention; things that I’ll be looking for coming out of the various announcements.

EDITED TO ADD: Some of my thoughts on news that caught my attention.

One Response

  1. I’m right with you. I have no desire to go to comicon – ever. I like smaller shows where you can prowl through hthe dealers and find hidden treasures and good deals. The lines, the crowding and the general insanity of some of the bigger cons just puts me right off.

    I like you point about the panels as well, why are we waiting for hours to attend an hour long panel that will be UP ON YOUTUBE TWENTY MINUETS LATER????

    So yeah, worry not, you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

