• July 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Not at Comic Con: Thoughts On Announcements/etc.


SDCC LogoIn no real particular order…

New Amazing X-Men title

I don’t know how Nightcrawler’s coming back, nor do I much care…but I have a certain fondness for the character, especially in tandem with Wolverine. Right now, MONTHS before the issue would even hit stands, ok…interesting concept. I’ll probably “bite.” BUT at SURELY a $3.99 cover price and presumably biweekly shipping (aka “double-shipping”) at that price point, I won’t be around long. I’m enjoying the heck outta how much my 1990s’ X-books collection seems to be coming together lately….and when I can get 8-16 issues for the price of one new issue, I’ll take quantity (and nostalgia) as the better value.

Doctor Who Comics in 2014–Publisher?

So, my main concern is: what happens to what I’ve bought of the IDW stuff via Comixology? I mean, I enjoy the IDW GI Joe Classics issue that reprints what was originally published by Marvel, but I haven’t seen things go the OTHER way. IDW is quite guilty of the variant covers, and the $3.99 price point, so rumoured Boom or Dynamite wouldn’t make any real difference to me there. I suppose really I’ll just wait and see…and make sure I read my IDW/Comixology issues before the end of the year.

Superman/Batman film

OK, so there’s been talk of something like this for YEARS. That it’s official? I like it a lot better than the prospect of a Justice League film so soon. Certainly fits better, and (at least conceptually) has potential. Also works well to me as a Man of Steel sequel, but also allowing the introduction of a new Batman, without actually relaunching a Batman franchise so soon after the conclusion of the Dark Knight films. If there’s controversy over the quote from DKR used to “help” announce it, well…to me, that just goes to show one of THE most adversarial, iconic moments of the characters in conflict, to me. It doesn’t mean the film itself will be DKR. Of course, this is just the announcement of the film…we still have YEARS until it would be released, so waaay too soon for much serious speculation. While there’s a place for the classic silver age buddy-buddy Superman/Batman relationship, I’m rather fond of the semi-adversarial but mutual-respect One Night in Gotham City (Man of Steel 1986 #3) relationship.

Avengers 2 = Age of Ultron

I’ve heard enough negative of the comic series Age of Ultron to make me glad I didn’t keep up with the single issues beyond #1. And I certainly hope the movie is in no way an adaptation of that specific story in general. Perhaps some loose concepts of that, some of Busiek‘s Ultron Unlimited, etc. I was looking forward to Thanos and possible Infinity Gauntlet stuff, but hey…I jumped straight to that conclusion for obvious reasons. Other than Iron Man 3, we haven’t had any more Marvel Movieverse films since Avengers as yet, though, have we? So the post-credits “subplots” haven’t really gone anywhere since then…and we’re way too early yet to truly have any reasonable expectations here.

Afterlife With Archie

Archie + zombies, and requests to not have ’em shelved with regular Archie comics? OK, I’ll probably (if you’ll excuse the bad pun) “bite” on this one, provided I remember it when the first issue would actually hit. A bit late to the party, but hey…when I do dip into Archie stuff I tend to enjoy it, and the publisher taking enough of a chance on a different direction that they’d watch out that it’s not put in front of kids is a responsible enough move to get props from me.

TMNT Stuff

Mostly just glad there are no plans for Venus de Milo in the main comics. Overall just looking forward to the continuing series, and that it’s being kept seperate from the tv animated series. Pre-Comic Con saw that there’d be a City Fall part 1 tpb, which is rather discouraging…I would truly prefer to see a single-volume of a single arc, especially when it’s “only” 8 issues. Not all that pleased at the prospect of Bebop and Rocksteady being introduced, but given Krang and the Neutrinos’ depictions, there’s some potential, and I’ll wait to see what actually develops.

Cataclysm vs. Hunger

Much like last year’s announcement of Mavel Now killing my enthusiasm cold for AvX, this series’ announcement totally killed any enthusiasm I had for Hunger. For the most part, I feel like it says “Hunger is prologue, but the REAL story that ‘potentially could end the Ultimate Universe’ will ACTUALLY be Cataclysm.” So I’ll stick to avoiding the Ultimate Comics stuff as singles per usual, see what shakes out, and back track in collected volumes or such after the fact.

Marvel Now 2

Though I got sucked in on several Marvel Now One books, I quickly dropped those for one reason or another (primarily $3.99/issue + double-shipping). So I’m not particularly interested in and of itself in a second round of Marvel Now. If something individually grabs me (Say, Amazing X-Men #1), fine…I’ll check it out. Otherwise…it’s just another thing out there.

Deadpool vs. Carnage, Origin II

Never particularly enjoyed the first Origin series. So I don’t have any enthusiasm whatsoever for a second. See earlier comments about enjoying cheaper ’90s X-comics. Now, Deadpool vs. Carnage sorta sounds “interesting” as a loose concept simply for my having digital issues of Carnage and Carnage USA to read, thanks to being mildly interested after reading the “free” issue(s) #1 from the big Marvel “giveaway” a few months back.

Everything Else?

As of this typing, nothing exciting or of real interest for me from DC. But then, I’m not their target audience anymore. I may go back on my resolve regarding Adventures of Superman, and allow the indulgence in the non-New 52 Superman stories, but DC in general just doesn’t interest me these days; all the worse with the creep into the $3.99 pricing. Sorta interested in Sam Keith‘s The Maxx return, and will probably find myself picking up the first issue at least just for the heckuvit…I remember when the original edition came out, and have a copy or two SOMEWHERE in my collection, snagged from bargain bins through the years. And at least so far…so much for the hope of Batman ’66 home media official release…

And overall, more than glad I didn’t have to deal with the crowds and costs and hassles of Comic Con itself to learn what I have.

One Response

  1. […] EDITED TO ADD: Some of my thoughts on news that caught my attention. […]

Leave a Reply

