• August 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

A Look At the Bookshelves


The last several years I’ve been keeping “recent” books separate from the main collection–they’re more convenient this way for me. Until this week, they were in any which order, and I kept finding myself wondering where, exactly, I had stuck something…so I finally got around to organizing three shelves’ worth of graphic novels.

dcshelf_full

Above: the full “DC Shelf,” which includes the handful of non-big-name stuff.

dc_01

Vertigo and Batman stuff…

dc_02

Superman…

dc_03

The rest of the DC stuff, primarily Flashpoint and Green Lantern stuff.

indy_stuff

These are recent non-DC/non-Marvel (and non-TMNT/non-Valiant) books…

marvel_full

The “Marvel shelves,” primarily Marvel but also my IDW-TMNT and Valiant stuff. The GI Joe, Dark Horse Heroes, and Aliens book got moved to join the Transformers and Highlander books so I wouldn’t need to use bookends.

tmnt_valiant

I love the TMNT Ultimate Collection volumes…just waiting for the fifth/final in that series to come out. I have yet to snag the Valiant Classics Shadowman volume, and may “upgrade” the current Valiant when the hardcovers for those start coming out later this year (if I recall correctly).

marvel_01

I continue to be amazed at how much Marvel I get in bookshelf format, and how much of it is “older.” A lot of Marvel volumes I’ve bought for anywhere from 50/60% off cover price to a mere $1-$3 apiece.

marvel_02

And I think part of why I have so many Marvel books compared to DC is the seeming constant “liquidation” of Marvel stuff, and the sheer plentiful-ness of cheaper volumes pretty much anywhere I go. Good and bad, but that’s a topic for another post.

marvel_03

Though not all that much a fan of the Ultimate line these days, I don’t mind checking ’em out when I can get a $25 hardcover for $3 or so. However, I’m actively looking to fill in my Ultimate Spider-Man run…just need vols 6-9 and I don’t know if there’s a 13 yet.

marvel_04

I’m definitely interested in tracking down other “major” X-event volumes…most specifically the Age of Apocalypse Omnibus and the Fatal Attractions volume…along with X-Force vol. 2.

Lately I seem to be back on the single-issue bargains train, working on filling out a number of “sub-collections” like DC ’90s Events (Armageddon 2001, Zero Hour, One Million) as well as Classic Valiant and Ultraverse, ongoing Bat-family books from ’86-2011, and ongoing X-titles 1990ish to 2003, with Uncanny X-Men to 2011 or so. But again…that’s for another post.

6 Responses

  1. I love the look of the Marvel’s all together. Awesome.

    • The hardcovers look even better lined up with each other…but until I sort all these into the “main collection,” easier to just have EVERYTHING sorted regardless of format. 🙂

  2. Your collection is fantastic! I particularly love all the John Constantine books!!!

    • Thanks! These are just recent volumes I’ve snagged…I’ve got all the older volumes up to these; just a few of these newer ones to track down, and then I’m gonna probably replace the earlier volumes with the new numbered editions since the newer ones seem more “complete.”

  3. Regarding the Ultimate Spider-Man HCs, there’s no volume 13 although the Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Death of Spider-Man Omnibus would work since it picks up directly from where volume 12 left off, and includes the remaining issues of Ultimate Comics Spider-Man as well as both Ultimate Comics Avengers vs New Ulimates and Ultimate Fallout minis.

    • cool…thanks for the heads-up! I agree…an omnibus picking up with the next issues would work fine to cap off the saga; the tie-ins would be a bit of ‘bonus’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

