• September 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Marvel Universe Series IV Revisited, Part 3


I’m not sure if I’ve ever actually read any of the original New Warriors comics, though I at least own some of the issues thanks to bargain-bin purchases. I believe there was a 7 or 8 issue series in 1997/98 that I’d read, though…but that was at least four years after being exposed to these cards!

The ones that stand out the most to me are Nova, Speedball, and Night Thrasher. Night Thrasher had a mini-series that I recall–whether it was from a friend having it or coming across it myself in bargain bins, I don’t recall offhand. Speedball of course would go on to much infamy during Civil War in 2006 or so. I also got to know Firestar a bit during Busiek‘s run on Avengers starting in 1998 with the Heroes Return stuff.

But back in 1993? These characters were virtual unknowns to me, outside of their appearance on these cards. It somewhat helps for me to realize that these characters were–in some cases–quite new at the time, and interesting to see who has lasted or otherwise gone on to notoriety since, and which ones (Cardinal, Turbo, Rage) I don’t recall ever even hearing of.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

