• November 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

21 Years Since the Death of Superman


superman075It was 21 years ago today (November 19, 1992) that Superman #75 was officially released.

Unrelatedly, I’d gotten sick at school, so didn’t get to go to the comic shop myself. HOWEVER, Dad went to the comic shop for me and picked it up (along with the previous few weeks’ issues). We both read the entire “Death of Superman” story that evening in the living room–I’d finish an issue and pass it to dad and he’d read. Started a couple-month thing, those weekly visits to the comic shop; getting the newest Superman comic; I’d read it, and he’d later read it.

Offhand, that day and the few weeks after while the Funeral for a Friend issues were coming out are the only time in my life I remember having that exact sort of shared experience, and it’s amazing what something like that can mean, looking back.

He’s always humoured me, with comics; and been quite the “enabler” through the years. But getting to share the actual reading experience of specific comics “in the now” like that stands out as a great childhood memory; and is something that–should I ever have any kids of my own–I would hope that I get to share with them.

One Response

  1. Love stories like this. On that fateful day in 1992, I couldn’t talk my mother into letting me skip school to pick up the book (I couldn’t afford the bundle our LCS offered… cover price plus $20 for holding). Instead, she offered to wait at the shop an hour before they opened for me… and there was still a massive line.

    She picked up both versions of 75 as well as the JLA epilogue for the death/prologue to the funeral.

Leave a Reply

