• December 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Response to Recent Readings


So, I’m catching up on my Bleeding Cool reading (haven’t bothered with Newsarama in ages and seems Bleeding Cool–whatever its faults–has more that interests me, and more “discussion” than CBR).

And today, several stories have caught my attention. So for lack of other thoughts for a post tonight, I offer some thoughts on stuff I’ve read tonight:

Subscription Sadness for Detective Comics #27

I’m absolutely in the camp that–had I received this letter telling me that I would be denied the next issue of a series I’d already bought the subscription to, I’d be cancelling and demanding a refund. There is no good reason I can see to pull this. I hadn’t really been planning on buying the issue anyway, but unless I stumble across “news” that this has been reversed, I’ll avoid the issue on principle.

All-New Marvel Now – Buy One Comic, Get Five Free (Kindle Update)

Well, all this Kindle stuff is meaningless for me–I’m a Nook guy, and even then, not so much these days as most of my reading’s been comics…for which I use Comixology on the digital side. I might be tempted to spring for a couple issues, as–if nothing else–$3.99 for the print issue is cheaper than the price of the digital collected volume. I’m not all that interested in any of the specific issues, though.

All-New Marvel Now Kicks Off Retailer Promotions

Of all of these, I might check out All-New X-Factor. I’m not particularly interested in the others…ESPECIALLY as these are undoubtedly $3.99 double-shippers, and I’m just not keen on what I’ve learned of these so far otherwise. Only other one I might be tempted to try would be X-Force…but I’m wondering if that’s a THIRD X-Force title (alongside Uncanny and Cable And)?  Again, the main thing that’s gonna keep me OUT is the $3.99 price tag. The likely double-shipping just makes things worse on top of that.

Magneto Gets an Ongoing Series in March from Bunn and Walta

…But I’ll probably suck it up and check out Magneto. I’ve long been quite fond of the character, particularly since the original Age of Apocalypse story back in ’94/’95. Not quite sure what to make of this one, but I’ll at least grab the first issue, and go from there.

Bryan Singer Announces X-Men: Apocalypse Film for 2016

Um…ok, great. But isn’t it weird that this is getting announced…oh…five months BEFORE the release of Days of Future Past? I mean, I get tired of hearing too much about films before they actually come out, but now to start hearing of a followup to a film that’s half a year from debuting? Ugh.

Leave a Reply

