• December 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Another Hour’s Come


“We all change. When you think about it, we’re all different people all through our lives, and that’s okay, that’s good, you gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be…”

lifeofwalt1to100smallI’ll admit it: watching this year’s Doctor Who Christmas Special nearly brought on tears. Had I been watching alone, I imagine it would have succeeded. But that’s not the focus of this post.

Of all the poignant things said, from Eccleston to Tennant to Smith and supporting characters throughout…this hit really close to the heart.

Who hasn’t felt like different people through the years? All the phases of life, the periods of trials, tribulations, joys and frustrations. Not so much the randomish ups and downs, but those extended periods of time.

If life were accurately represented in a comic book series–that is, one’s life individually given a comic book publication analogy of sorts–it’d be like all the Marvel and/or DC reboots and such. lifeofwaltbgsustudent061The continuity might remain the same, but the numbering is new/different, and the creative team might shift.

I was one person through maybe 4th/5th grade. Another those years through the end of junior high. I was another person in high school…maybe 2: one most of freshman year, with a transformation that began in the final weeks that year hitting that summer between freshman/sophomore years.

I was another person the summer between high school and college, and by halfway into freshman year of college I was yet another person. The summer between my sophomore and junior years I was another, and then Autumn 2001 saw me become yet another person for most of that academic year and into the summer after. lifeofwalt100I was a ‘new’ person from the week before my senior year began on through the next autumn before a short time as yet another person in early 2004.

There was another life from going off to grad school in late August 2004 through to 2007/2008; and I’ve felt like a different person these last few years.

Truthfully, lately I’ve begun to think that it’d be rather ideal to be able to “regenerate”–to maintain memories of everything that’s come so far, but to have a new start, a new/different personality, etc. Yet much as I might desire certain things to change…I suppose I’m afraid of what must happen to usher in such change. And who I am now, whoever that is–“I don’t want to go.”

Leave a Reply

