• February 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

TMNT Toys in the Wild – Squirrelanoids


While there’s still a disturbing post-holiday absence of TMNT stock at Walmarts and Targets I’ve looked at lately, the other day I happened to find an all-new (to me) figure that I’d not known of until seeing it there in-person: the Squirrelanoid!

squirrelanoid_front_0202

This is a rather ugly figure…but then, the creature is rather ugly, so it’s not really a comment on the sculpt or such in and of itself. I tend to find squirrels rather cute, so not all that thrilled to see such a horrifyingly-mutated one such as this…

squirrelanoid_back_0202

I immediately noticed the obvious Aliens inspiration…the body, the tail, and the “inner-jaws” on the creature…

squirrelanoid_profile_0202

I also noted the continued use of ACTUALLY SHOWING NUMEROUS FIGURES IN THE LINE that I’m shocked more toy lines do not do. I’ve ALWAYS found this a helpful reference with the TMNT figures, dating back to the 1980s with the original line!

While I did not have any inclination to actually buy the Squirrelanoid, I did spot several OTHER characters that I’m interested in and will at least keep an eye out for!

others_casey_jones     others_kirby_bat

I’m quite glad to see Casey Jones shown…while I don’t like the looks of the skull-mask instead of the typical hockey mask, I look forward to finding the figure in-person to evaluate at that point. The Kirby Bat is interesting to me as–not having kept up with the tv show–I wonder if there was an adaptation of the Kirby story from the Donatello special from the ’80s. This also looks to be the closest I might get to a Wingnut figure…

others_mutagen_man     others_rahzar

This is definitely a different “take” on the Mutagen Man, and seems the only figure that would truly make sense to come with a container of “ooze” (as opposed to the turtle variants from last year). I recall the original Mutagen Man figure from the 1980s line, so will be interested to see this one in person, and perhaps to find the episode he appears in.

Unfortunately, while these others came out fairly clearly, Rahzar is blurry and I don’t have a better image at present. This character looks rather insectoid to me, though the name seems reminiscent of the mutant wolfling from the TMNT II: Secret of the Ooze film. I’ll be interested in finding this one just out of curiosity at what it actually is.

And below, the full assortment of figures shown on the Squirrelanoid’s card back.

other_good_guys0202

other_bad_guys_0202

One Response

  1. […] get into the swing of things with more this year, outside of spotting TMNT Toys in the WIld (Squirrelanoids, Kirby Bat and Casey Joines, etc) and get to more coverage of the various comics and such…and my […]

Leave a Reply

