• October 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Seven Deadly Sins of Book Lovers [misc]


I found this at http://myhomeofbooks.bookblog.io/ but wasn’t tagged. Still, an interesting topic for a blog post, so here goes.

1. Greed: What is your most expensive book?

As far as what I paid for it…probably a textbook from grad school. As far as comics…probably my Death and Return of Superman Omnibus…though it’s likely I’ll soon break that “record” with one or more of the Valiant Classic omnibii coming up soon.

2. Wrath: What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

That’s a good question: probably Stephen King, but more the books themselves. In recent years, I quite enjoyed the mere concept of Under the Dome and 11/22/63, but haven’t cared for much else. May not be “hate” exactly, but it’s certainly not an automatic thing that I’ll buy/read everything.

Comics-wise, the same could probably be said of Geoff Johns where I’ve really greatly enjoyed some of his stuff, but I’m finding more recent stuf to be almost pretentious, or at least I’m rather “tired” of his stuff…the newness has worn off.

3. Gluttony: What book have you devoured over and over again with no shame?

Doomsday/The Death of Superman, Funeral For a Friend/World Without a Superman, early TMNT, X-Men: Fatal Attractions, Age of Apocalypse, etc. Specific issues in particular: Superman #75, X-Men #41, Untold Legends of the Batman #3, Wolverine #75, X-Men #25, Astonishing X-Men (1999) #3, X-Men Alpha, X-Men Omega, etc.

4. Sloth: Which book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Probably more than I HAVEN’T. A number of “$9.99 vol. 1s”, Marvel Zomnibus, Avengers: The Crossing Omnibus, and too many issues now of Archer & Armstrong that I need to catch up on.

5. Pride: What book do you most talk about in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

Watchmen, perhaps. Kingdom Come moreso, probably. I talk about and read what I like; and I try to make it clear when I’m talking more from a vague sense of familiarity than actual experience/having read something.

6. Lust: What attributes do you find attractive in a male or female character?

Not sure I have a list…depends on the specific character(s) and context.

7. Envy: What book would you most like to receive as a gift?

Offhand, the Death of Spider-Man (Ultimate Spider-Man) Omnibus, the X-Men: Age of Apocalypse Omnibus, and/or the X-Men: Fatal Attractions Omnibus.

Leave a Reply

