• October 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Hunter/Prey Superman/Doomsday and Vintage TMNT


Over the weekend while visiting a friend, he took me to a local store that had a mix of toys (mostly vintage stuff), video games (lotta vintage stuff), comics (vintage back issues and 25-cent books and more recent graphic novels/collected volumes).

I was rather thrilled to see some vintage TMNT toys, and several hanging in “home-made” packaging.

I was awed when I spotted a very familiar but unseen-in-person-in-many-years action figure pack:

hunter_prey_superman_doomsday_double_pack_front

I distinctly remember having seen this and several of the other figures in the line “back in the day” while out shopping with my aunt and sister. But at the time I thought I was “out of” getting action figures and such, to say nothing of whatever this thing cost retail.

Seeing the $12 price tag on this, I took it off the peg and vowed to myself if I bought nothing else that night, I was buying this. At this scale, either one of the figures would be $10 or more, if not $12 individually.

Add in the fancy packaging with the comic book and either one would probably be $15 or more at Toys R Us or such present-day. But this is a vintage–or near-vintage–pack, of TWO figures…so $6/figure plus the comic still there? Awesome. (And I do have a loose copy of the comic somewhere, pulled from a quarter bin at some point in the last few years).

hunter_prey_superman_doomsday_double_pack_back

While I wouldn’t mind getting a couple of the other figures, I’m not too keen on yet another quasi-standard Superman just to get Massacre, and I still have hopes of someday tracking down DC Direct versions of Steel, Superboy, and the Eradicator.

The Hunter-Prey Superman with Doomsday is the gem of the bunch, to me, though…and one of the coolest purchases I’ve made recently.

vintage_metalhead_and_foot_ninja

For $5 apiece, I snagged this vintage Metalhead and Foot Ninja. I was already paying $9ish/ea for the “reprint” Foot, adding another to the mix for $5 is well worthwhile to me.

And my recent fascination with having the various versions of TMNT figures through the years made Metalhead a no-brainer as well. While these purchases move me into new territory–buying actual vintage objects, “copies” of what I remember having had a different copy of in my youth–still a cool purchase…especially for the price!

vintage_foot_ninja

vintage_metalhead

Leave a Reply

