• December 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

TMNT (2012) Toys: Bebop and Rocksteady


I was rather surprised several weeks ago to learn of these figures’ pending presence in Walmarts (something about being “exclusive” to Walmart and available “everywhere” in January or some such). Surprised for that exclusivity (ugh) and their very existence.

I have mixed feelings on ’em; I’ve been more than fine with a number of other characters having multiple iterations, but to me, These two don’t really have much need to exist. And yet though I say that…I bought ’em both first chance I could, and I’ll be interested in seeing them on the show whenever I (eventually) catch up.

Though the profiles suggest their being far different than the originals, and even the contemporary comics versions (which are probably my favorite iteration).

rocksteady_front

rockstead_profile

Rocksteady lacks much visually of what I’d expect of the character, given the popularity seems (to me, in my mind) to be based specifically on the character in the classic ’80s/’90s cartoon. Here he’s basically “just” a mutant rhino who happens to share the name with the original.

bebop_front

bebop_profile

Same with Bebop as said about Rocksteady above…though I do “see” a bit more of the classic Bebop in this version than I see of the similarities in versions of Rocksteady.

Those pencil-thin legs look really awkward to me, and I can’t say I’m particularly thrilled with the design.

The back of the card shows some new mutated version of Michelangelo, and a “serpent” version of Karai…two figures I have zero interest in. Having picked up Tiger Claw, Slash, the “original comics” turtles and whatnot, at the moment I think I’m pretty content on the TMNT toys.

Though one of these days I’m gonna (finally) bite the bullet and buy that darned van…

Leave a Reply

