• June 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Lake Effect Comic Con Haul 2015


This weekend was the (I believe 6th) annual Lake Effect Comic Con in Mentor, OH at the Great Lakes Mall (specifically the Atlas Cinema). This is a local one-day show, primarily a "dealer’s room," but also an Artists’ Alley, and a small slate of events–a couple panels, a costume/cosplay contest, etc. The event is organized by the owner of Comics and Friends, a comic shop in the mall (that I find it hard to believe has been there so long now!)

I’ve been to at least 4 of these now, with varying degrees of luck finding stuff I’m looking for. One year I found a bunch of X-Men and Valiant stuff; another year I happened across an X-Men omnibus for 60% off cover minutes after walking in and bought it and walked out before I could spend more money. I believe it was last year I scored several action figures I’d been looking for.

I went in hoping to find a discounted Thanos vs. Hulk paperback or X-O Manowar deluxe hardcover vol. 1 and barring those, perhaps a Thanos Mighty Mugg or perhaps the Hulkbuster Iron Man Marvel Select, or maybe some cool quarter-bin issues or Power Rangers blind-box mystery vinyls, etc. Sadly, the only real bargain bins I saw were Comic Heaven and I have access to that store anytime I’m (frequently) in the area.

But one dealer had a bunch of old toys, mostly loose, as well as several classic board games…and Munchkin.

munchkin_box_front_classic

I’ve been putting the newer Munchkin Legends in my cart at Target and then jettisoning the thing before I check out for over a year, and often considering some of the expansions elsewhere when I come across them (and not getting those for lack of having the core/original game).

Finding this "classic edition" for only $12 was a great find, and means I can at least play the game itself.

munchkin_box_back_classic

I came across this Minimates Enterprise (with Captain Kirk) and picked it up, put it back, picked it up again, put it back, walked away, and then back to actually get it. Despite being a Star Trek fan, until now I’ve never actually had an Enterprise, and for the price (and the branding), I decided this is worthwhile and will definitely get some shelf space.

star_trek_tos_enterprise_kirk_minimates

There’s also the coolness factor for me that it’s the Original Series and not based on the new movies version. While I like the new movies, I like the "classic" stuff and it seems there’s much more available than for the new films.

electric_tale_of_pikachu_4pack

And I was recently remembering the classic/original Pokemon stuff, and finding the complete original mini-series for only $3 was well worthwhile.

With these three items, I figured I had spent enough and didn’t need to go looking for more to spend money on just for the sake of spending money; and since I hadn’t really seen anything particularly eye-catching or promising…that was that.

I was in and out in under a half-hour, spending only about what I’d usually spend in a typical weekly comic shop run, so I did well, and walked out with half my "budget" still in-pocket, which itself can now go to this week’s new comics.

2 Responses

  1. I love Lake Effect. I’ve gone the last four years, and taken the kids the last 2-3. It’s usually a really good dealers room with genuinely good deals. We found an old She-Ra character for $3, a plushie dragon that one of my daughters just fell in love with and a Wonder Woman / Star Sapphire heroclix that just blew my other daughter’s mind.

    Also, we cosplay. We do the costume contest every year and always have fun with it, it’s my daughters favorite part of the show. The cosplay panel was actually really fun this year too. I miss when they had more movie screenings though….

  2. Nice!

    I actually went back in the afternoon with a friend for the cosplay contest; we didn’t realize it was in one of the actual theaters, so by the time we wandered around and fund someone to ask, we were stuck on the outer aisle and couldn’t see.

    I know Kenmore Komics and JC in Cuyahoga Falls have spoiled conventions for me; I take for granted the bargain bins and sales and such; combined with Comic Heaven many weekends.

    Also sounds like a MUCH different experience being there with the kids, where I typically go alone, and it’s easy to beat a sudden/hasty retreat if the crowd gets to be a bit much.

    Very cool to get the kiddos into stuff, and that they enjoy it, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

