• July 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

And That’s Done It


I received confirmation late this afternoon from my comic shop that my drop request was received and has been processed.

While there may be some lingering issues already ordered for me and such (that I’ve asked still be passed to me, I’m not interested in making the comic shop absorb extra costs on top of what Valiant has already “cost” them), this officially leaves me with 4 titles I’m “officially” sticking with: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, TMNT: Current Mini-series (right now, Casey and April), TMNT Color Classics, the tie-in book based on the current TMNT animated series, and Letter 44.

No DC.

No Marvel (though I’m happily enjoying the Digital Comics Unlimited to READ a lot!).

and now, No Valiant.

Plenty of back issues for DC. A number of collected volumes of classic stuff. The Digital stuff from Marvel, to READ (but NOT own) stuff. and for now, despite my ire over the Legends of the Geomancer thing…I’m interested yet in the Deluxe Edition hardcovers from Valiant, and will be sticking to those, if anything from the publisher (for the foreseeable future).

I don’t know that I was 100% convinced myself on dropping the singles. But I hit “send” on the email last night.

And then part of me contemplated whether or not the shop had received the email or if it got lost in the busy-ness of stuff…and would I have to bring the matter up again?

In the next week or so, I’m expecting a handful of collected volumes from a recent Marvel blow-out.

After that, perhaps I’ll try some Image vol. 1s for a few weeks–the cost being a bit less yet on par with what I was spending most weeks on Valiant. Maybe I’ll buy a game or few–a number of Munchkin expansions I’m interested in, as well as several other games.

I want to read the Alan Moore Saga of the Swamp Thing volumes at long last. Maybe finally take the full plunge on Transmetropolitan after a couple of “false starts.” Maybe finally catch up on some of the TMNT Adventures paperbacks.

Maybe just actually SAVE some money.

Time will tell, I suppose.

I expect some doubt and reconsideration, maybe even a hint of “regret” in the near future. But I’m glad I opted to run with my “principle.” That I “pulled the trigger.” Yeah, life will go on. Does go on. Is going on. It will take some getting used to, not having Valiant stuff in my stack most weeks.

But I really, truly DO need to ENJOY what I’m buying. To be happy to be paying what I am. To be looking forward to what I’m gonna read, and not feel like I’m wasting money or harboring negative feelings over stuff.

Plenty yet to read. Loads to re-read.

Gimme a few weeks, and it probably won’t phase me. Angry as I am NOW, maybe in a month or few I’ll genuinely wish Valiant the best of luck. Right now, I don’t give a crap, though I dislike the sense of schadenfreude I’d take satisfaction in at the moment.

Regardless of crap with this publisher, a number of other elements in play right now, a part of my life. One day at a time…

Leave a Reply

