• July 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

More Fun Reading Marvel Digitally


I’ve been keeping track of the issue I’m reading on Marvel’s Digital Comics Unlimited.

And as of this typing, 27 days into my first $9.99/mo 1-month subscription (I assume I have 30 days), I’ve read 40 issues…which functionally makes these all like quarter-bin issues that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed.

Trial of Jean Grey (6 issues)
Silver Surfer 34-38 [Rebirth of Thanos] (5 issues)
Thanos Quest (2 issues)
Thanos Rising 1-5 (5 issues)
Infinity Gauntlet 1-6 (6 issues)
Wolverine (2014) 8-12 (5 issues)
Death of Wolverine 1-4 (4 issues)
Wolverine and the X-Men 10-11 (2 issues)
Death of Wolverine: Life After Logan 1 (1 issue)
Storm 4-5 (2 issues)
Death of Wolverine: Deadpool and Captain America 1 (1 issue)
Nightcrawler 7 (1 issue)

I plan to move into the Death of Wolverine: The Weapon X Project and Death of Wolverine: The Logan Legacy this weekend. I may backtrack through a couple of the earlier Wolverine volumes to the Killable stuff or whatever it was.

$10 and I finally got to read the Trial of Jean Grey without hunting singles or buying an oversized and overpriced hardcover; an overpriced Thanos Rising paperback, and overpriced Death of Wolverine volume. I’ve read some of the tie-in/aftermath to the Death of Wolverine, and quite enjoyed going back to early 1990s Silver Surfer and Thanos.

All this for little more than the price of two single issues. No variants, no waits between issues, no hassles.

This is the most fun I’ve had reading Marvel stuff in years, I think.

And I’m pretty sure this is going to be my primary source of "comics joy" for awhile, as I’ve become so disenchanted and put off by contemporary print stuff.

Now, if DC would do something like this, I think I’d be all over it as well!


[EDIT: 7/18/2015]

Death of Wolverine: The Logan Legacy 1-7 (7 issues)
Death of Wolverine: The Weapon X Project 1-5 (5 issues)

Read the first several issues of Logan Legacy Saturday morning…then issues 4-7 and all of Weapon X Project in a single sitting. This brings me up to about 52 issues read in my first month’s subscription.

Now next up looks to be a Captain America Annual from 1986 (Cap vs. Wolverine, as referenced in the Cap/Deadpool issue) and then catching up on where I left off to the end of the original Uncanny X-Force volume.

2 Responses

  1. Ive been a member for 2 years now, i love it, its definitely the best deal in comics

  2. […] For that first month, I ultimately read about 50 issues, working out to everything being like having…. For “only” $10 spent, I was quite pleased with myself. […]

Leave a Reply

