• March 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

New 52 Zero Omnibus


One large part of it being rather disconcerting randomly purchasing the Dark Knight Returns/Death of Superman hardcovers the other day was that I was already planning on another large purchase: the DC Comics New 52 Zero Omnibus.

An employee at Half-Price Books had recently–in asking if I was on the marketing list–mentioned their huge sale coming up with the daily coupons 20/20, 30/30, 40/40 and 50% off.

I was unwilling to pay even HPB‘s price on this particular volume…but take an additional 30% off? That brings it very much into worthwhile pricing territory!

dc_new52_zero_omnibus

I drove out of my way after work specifically to get this, figuring copies were fairly limited and others might take advantage of the sale the same way I intended…so I bought it with a 30% off coupon, rather than wait a couple more days for 40% (and I’d be shocked if any remain by Sunday’s 50% off). All told, I saved over $100 off the cover price of this thing, and 70% off total between the already-discounted price and the coupon, with some tax thrown back on.

While I’ve no idea when I’ll get around to reading from this, it (and the Villains Month Omnibus I got last year) are especially appealing to me for the issues largely being one-shots (to my understanding) even if they serve an ongoing narrative…so while this has but one single issue from any given title of the 52 or so…it’s still a bunch of issues that I’d hope I can enjoy well enough on their own one at a time.

Now, I guess there’s just a matter of finding that Futures End Omnibus and waiting to see if they do an omnibus of the weekly series. And for around the price I paid for this, I would not be opposed to the #1s omnibus.

That said…there are loads of other books I’m interested in and want to get in the near-ish future…but I’ve gotta try to back off the spending a bit, with some personal stuff going on. I’d been looking forward to this one for weeks, between spotting it at a HPB and then weeks after that learning of the upcoming sale and resolving to get it–if available still–using a sale coupon.

3 Responses

  1. Nice find! This is one of those “saving for Sunday’s 50% off coupon” books I’ve got on my radar.

    Gonna put a bunch’a HPB-bound miles on the car this weekend!

    • I’d love to have gotten this for the 50% off…but decided I wanted it enough that I didn’t want to risk “missing out” on it for the sake of a $12 difference the 50% over 30% would be (given even this was already saving over $100 as-is)

      Depending on how my weekend goes financially, I may stop at the HPB that’s about 5 minutes down the road from where I’ll be, and see if they have any “big books” left that I’d want, but this was the main one I knew consciously I wanted.

  2. […] has been a HUGE week for me with money spent, well beyond any usual “preference,” purchasing the DC: The New 52 Zero Omnibus for over $100 cheaper than cover price, as well as the hardcover Graphic Novel + BluRay + Digital editions of The Death of Superman and […]

Leave a Reply

