• March 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Cereal Comics: Dawn of Justice


I really wish they’d do it more often, so I was quite glad to see that DC has a new round of comics in General Mills‘ cereals…and of course, this round makes perfect sense…though I think it should have been a bit earlier, as I’d be interested to have all four issues before the movie hits next week.

generalmills_batmanvsuperman_1_and_3

I bought two boxes of cereal while getting groceries tonight–Lucky Charms and Honey Nut Cheerios–and gladly got two different issues, including #1.

I know these are throw-away stories, no bearing on continuity and such, but the kid in me is absolutely, completely thrilled at these…given the lack of this sort of thing when I actually was a kid. (Some may remember the The Untold Legend of the Batman mini-comics that I believe were cereal-prizes in the early/mid-1980s, but I missed that by at least a couple years).

While the stories may be throwaway…the creative talent isn’t…or at least, not as much as could be! From the start, the covers are impressive–Gary Frank and Rod Reis art–and it looks like different writers for each issue–Jeff Parker for #1, Marguerite Bennett for #3, and other creative names involved that I at least recognize.

I’ll need to figure out where my others went to…but for now, I’m (obviously) going to be seeking #s 2 & 4 of this…and I’ll be well-stocked on cereal for awhile, too!

Leave a Reply

