• July 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • On Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Comic Blog Elite

    Comic Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

The Weekly Haul – Week of June 28, 2017 (part two)

The weekly haul became a massive weekend haul due to logistics! I already posted about the books I got, since I didn’t have "regular comics" to pick up this week. Though I neglected to recall how many I had had pulled and would be picking up…plus some bargains!

weeklyhaul_06282017c

While I’ve yet to sit down to actually READ any of these, I’m absolutely very much behind the $1.50 price point Alterna is able to achieve with these"newsprint" comics! (And actually, The Chair was only $1!) I believe these are basically serialized versions of previously-published graphic novels…but for the price, I’m all for it…and I love the corner-box stuff for nostalgia and whatnot. THIS is the way "legacy" and "nostalgia" SHOULD run, while being "new" and different and all that. For "only" $1.50/issue, if the thing sucks, it’s still a small investment and I won’t feel cheated the way I would at a Marvel issue costing me nearly three times what one of these cost!

weeklyhaul_06282017d

Granted, Marvel does the occasional wave of $1 issues…but these are reprints of prior issues, and only a "first" issue, without the subsequent issues. Still, for the $1 price point, I like getting these True Believers issues, regardless of whether or not I already have the original or a prior reprint.

weeklyhaul_06282017e

Given it seemed everyone sold out quickly of Batman/Elmer Fudd I’m quite glad I requested the issue be pulled ahead of time. Newest Superman comic in Action Comics this week; the halfway issue of the Kamandi Challenge, the 275th (!) issue of Spawn, and I believe the final issue (#12!) of Aliens: Defiance (the longest Aliens series ever, I believe, though at least one Aliens vs. Predator series in the ’90s ran about 12).

weeklyhaul_06282017e2

IDW was a big splash this week with two new TMNT issues for me (though I could not swear as to whether or not both shipped this week or not!); the conclusion of the Highlander mini-series, and "trying" two new #1s in Kull Eternal and Clue (cuz hey, really…a comic about the board game? And there was a movie in the ’90s? I’ll bite…)

weeklyhaul_06282017f

Quite unexpectedly and on top of the massive new-issues haul, I found a bunch of issues in the 50-cent bins that grabbed my attention. A couple of Untold Tales of Spider-Man, 3 of 4 issues of Mars Attacks Savage Dragon that seems amusing enough, and a couple shiny issues in The Ray and Shadowman #0 (along with the non-shiny variant).

weeklyhaul_06282017g

Then a handful of Magnus Robot Fighter issues from the Acclaim run. I may already have some of these, may not…for 50 cents, I figured I’d snag ’em anyway.

weeklyhaul_06282017h

Then the gem of these: Supergirl and the Legion of Super-Heroes #s 18-36! Quite a run of the title from when Supergirl joined the book (I believe #18 was the first) and whether or not #36 was the last issue, that’ still a good 19-issue run to add to the collection!

weeklyhaul_06282017i

Also quite unexpected was a 90%-off bin of trades. For mostly under $2 each (I think the Thor volume was $3.50!) I was happy to snag a bunch: much lengthier than a 20-page single issue, and at mostly half the price OF a standard single issue! Even the more expensive one was still less than a standard new issue!

The primary drawback was that yeah, everything individually was a great bargain-price (aside from the new issues)…but man, did they add up fast! This would’ve been a hefty haul even before the new issues…added together, the "sticker shock" led me to cancel a couple of other stops I was going to make. I’d spent quite enough, and that was that!

Now we’re on to (in the U.S.) a weird sort of "holiday" week, where (for me) there is NOT an "extended weekend," but rather coming off a "regular" 2 day weekend, I work Monday, have a day off Tuesday for the holiday, and back to work Wednesday through Friday.

Fun stuff, no?

As usual…hopefully the coming week’s new issues will be a smaller bunch. I have a lot more reading to catch up on than I’ve gotten done lately, which is starting to get a bit into the realm of the ridiculous, unfortunately!

